Somewhere Between Twitter & Facebook

Ah, the microblog. To most people who know what this is, Twitter is probably the first thing that comes to mind. Limited to only 140 characters, content is short and sweet.

But that’s not the only microblog that exists! What about Tumblr?

When I think of Tumblr, I think of funny pictures and gifs that “normal” people post themselves or re-blog from someone else. I never thought that a magazine would take advantage of this!

But unlike your website and blog, your Tumblr page is more about communicating with your target audiences and less about broadcasting to them. Somewhere between your Facebook and Twitter pages, Tumblr brings your brand’s reputation, products and services to the public arena, creating chatter that goes on every day in homes or around the office water coolers.”

Today, Tumblr boasts 300 million monthly unique visitors. This is an extremely large number, and when thinking about places to advertise or promote your brand, I don’t know why someone would glance past this gold mine of a microblog.

Here are 5 magazines that use Tumblr to their advantage.

1. Vogue

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 10.23.11 AM

2. The New Yorker

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 10.23.53 AM

3. GQ Magazine

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 10.24.13 AM

4. Newsweek

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 10.24.36 AM

5. Entertainment Weekly

Screen Shot 2014-04-10 at 10.25.10 AMWith readers able to re-blog content very easily, this platform is similar to many other social media outlets. But why not use Tumblr to promote your content (as well as external content) and share images not seen in the print editions?

You may be thinking…wait a hot second, if my brand has a Twitter, Pinterest, Instagram, Facebook, AND Tumblr, is that too much? Well, yes, there is quite a lot of social media going on there, but as long as there is a method to your madness—I say go for it!

4 thoughts on “Somewhere Between Twitter & Facebook

  1. Haha it does seem a little crazy to have so many platforms doesn’t it? I agree that Tumblr really has a purpose when it comes to magazines. Magazines are so image-driven and Tumblr seems perfect for picture sharing like Pinterest. Did not know that Tumblr had that many different users, wow! Also didn’t realize how much it is focused on communicating with readers and creating buzz. I haven’t really explored Tumblr before reading your post, but I’m definitely intrigued to learn more about it. You’ve got a great conversational voice to your blog and great content, Christina! I’ve really enjoyed reading it!

  2. I used to be a very active Tumblr user, and I think that Tumblr is a pretty genius way to control the content that a company wants to promote. For some of the magazines using Tumblr that you shared, I definitely could have guessed it. However, there were some that really surprised me! Vogue, GQ, and Entertainment Weekly were all ones I can definitely see taking full advantage of Tumblr. The New Yorker and Newsweek are two magazines I never would have thought of to be using Tumblr, but now I think…why not? No, they may not post the pretty pictures that the other magazines like Vogue may post, but they are posting great content that is relevant to some users. From my personal use of Tumblr, it was difficult for me to get out of the mindset that Tumblr is strictly used for reblogging photos. There are so many users that use Tumblr in so many different ways. Of the 300 million visitors every month, someone must be reading Newsweek’s content. Although it’s difficult for a company to make digital content go “viral,” Tumblr is a great tool to use to possibly begin a viral video/blog/photo. You made this short, simple, and to the point. Thanks for giving me a new perspective to Tumblr!

  3. Whoa! I didn’t see this coming either. I’ve always thought of Tumblr to be what you mention to be a site of comical images. I can’t really imagine magazines taking advantage of this medium, but I guess it’s a new age, right? Businesses can have it all. They can have every social media platform and they can work them all well! I agree with you, they should go for it! (As long as they have enough people to operate them at optimum ability!) Taking this to a different path, how many people would you hire to operate your social media for your business? Or would you do it all yourself?

  4. I agree, I heard about Tumblr but didn’t really know that it was so popular! 300 million monthly users is a great number when it comes to viewership! I always thought Facebook or Twitter, but Tumblr is a great social media outlet to help boosts companies reach a higher platform! You would think Instagram would be better but I understand how Tumblr can be beneficial tool for any company! Do you think Tumblr is great for social media? Are you surprised about Tumblr’s popularity as well?

Leave a Reply

